We Are Proud: National Merit Scholarship and Math Masters

September 22, 2020

Moorhead Area Public Schools recognizes outstanding achievements of students, staff and community members in the We Are Proud section of the School Board agenda.

We Are Proud of MHS Seniors Emma Pranger and Lila Stanley who were named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Emma Pranger

Emma Pranger


Lila Stanley

More than 1.5 million juniors from about 21,000 high schools entered the competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. Only 288 students from Minnesota have been named semifinalists for 2021. 

We Are Proud of the sixth-grade students who received individual and team awards in the Regional Math Masters Tournament held in Moorhead on March 5, 2020. Math Masters of Minnesota is a statewide competition that challenges students to use higher-order thinking skills and problem-solving abilities in mathematics and recognizes academic effort and achievement. Nineteen teams and 95 students from the region competed. Placing third as a team were Ava Mattison, Haylee Melquist, Dane Ellingsberg, Isaac LaVoi and Isaiah Flores.


Odin Adams


Jack Dauner

Harper Wilson

Jack Dauner placed 9th and Odin Adams placed 11th in the Individual Awards and Harper Wilson placed 8th in the Fact Drill competition. Leigh Dornfeld is the Math Masters coordinator.  

Congratulations to all of these wonderful students in their achievements!