We Are Proud: Girls Swimming and Diving Team

November 17, 2020

Pictured above: Alayna Janke in the 100yd Butterfly

Moorhead Area Public Schools recognizes outstanding achievements of students, staff and community members in the We Are Proud section of the School Board agenda.

We Are Proud of the girls swimming and diving team for winning the 2020 Section 8AA Swimming & Diving Championships.

The Moorhead SPUDS girls swimming and diving team defeated Buffalo by half a point at their final meet of the year in Elk River Oct. 23 and 24. 

Team members include: 

Jenna Brendemuhl, Mary Casey, Livia Deelstra, Abigail Ellingsberg, Anika Haberer, Courtney Haberer, Mikenna Harvala, Makayla Hegg, Arianna Hoff, Margaret Howe, Abbie Ishaug, Cassie Ishaug, Alyana Janke, LiLy Kjos, Isabella Myers, Elizabeth Noel, Kennedy Olson, Sydney Olson, Olivia Roaldson, Ava Rodgers, Brynn Saarion, Chantelle Schmidt, Sydney Skaurud, Katie Yarber.

Pictured above: Abbie Ishaug won first place in the 100yd Breaststroke

New school records: Abbie Ishaug in the 100yd Breaststroke; Margaret Howe, Abbie Ishaug, Alayna Janke and Ava Rodgers in the 200yd Medley Relay; Arianna Hoff, Abbie Ishaug, Livia Deelstra and Ava Rodgers in the 400yd Freestyle Relay.

The team is coached by Pat Anderson, Kyrsten Frey, Kebrah Dyer, Kara Schmitz-Olson, Jeff Schneider and Josh Starkweather.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful students in their achievements! Click here to read more We Are Proud stories.